Home News NDC MPs to boycott Akufo-Addo swearing-in
News - January 7, 2021

NDC MPs to boycott Akufo-Addo swearing-in

Listen to this article

Members of Parliament of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have served notice they will not attend the swearing-in ceremony of President-elect Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and his Vice, Alhaji Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia.

The ceremony, which will have some world leaders in attendance, is scheduled to be held in Parliament at 12:00pm.

It follows the inauguration of the Eighth Parliament and the prolonged selection of the next Speaker, which fell to Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, a former NDC MP.

After Speaker Bagbin announced that the swearing-in ceremony will take place an hour later than originally scheduled, MP for Asawase Constituency disclosed that his colleagues will not be at the ceremony.

The NDC has rejected the results of the December 7, 2020 elections, claiming they were rigged for the incumbent president.

The party’s supporters have staged separate protests across the country to register their displeasure with the results.

Presidential Candidate John Dramani Mahama has since filed a petition at the Supreme Court to challenge the outcome of the elections.

He has sued the Electoral Commission, Ghana (EC), and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Source: 3 News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Do not use aircraft number N-195DN for flights to Accra – GCAA writes to Delta Airlines

Listen to this article The Ghana Civil Association Authority (GCAA) has cautioned Delta Ai…